Parts of England classified as ‘investment zones’

The government wants to build Britain with new projects (Photo: PA)

Large parts of England could be strengthened against the economic crisis with new ‘low-tax zones’.

Chancellor Quasi Quarteng revealed more details about the plans in a speech this morning.

Liz TrussThe government will strive to create low-tax, low-regulatory investment zones across England.

Talks will be held with dozens of local authorities to set up the special areas.

Potential investment areas include Blackpool, Cornwall, Hull, Leicestershire and Stoke-on-Trent.

The Chancellor told the House of Commons that work is underway to ensure that the same support can go to the decentralized countries.

He said: ‘The time it takes to get approval for nationally important projects is slowing, not faster, as our international competitors make progress. We must put an end to this.

“To support growth across the country, we need to move forward, with targeted action in local areas.

“We will liberalize planning rules in specified agreed locations, release land and accelerate development.”

Blackpool is one of the areas earmarked under the new government plans (Picture: Getty Images)

“And we will cut taxes, with businesses in designated locations benefiting from generous tax credits.”

Mr Kwarteng has also pledged to ‘turn the vicious circle of stagnation into a virtuous cycle of growth’ while addressing the economic impact of the cost of living crisis.

It comes after the Bank of England warned that the country was already in recession, as interest rates hiked from 1.75 to 2.25.

The 38 areas being talked about to become an investment zone:

  • Council of Blackpool
  • Bedford Borough Council
  • Central Bedfordshire Council
  • Council of Cheshire West and Chester
  • Cornwall Council
  • County Council of Cumbria
  • Derbyshire County Council
  • Council of Dorset
  • Council of East Riding of Yorkshire
  • Essex County Council
  • Greater London Authority
  • Gloucestershire County Council
  • Greater Manchester Combined Authority
  • Hull . City Council
  • Kent County Council
  • Lancashire County Council
  • Leicestershire County Council
  • Liverpool City Region
  • North East Lincolnshire Council
  • Council of North Lincolnshire
  • Norfolk County Council
  • Combined Authority North of Tyne
  • North Yorkshire County Council
  • Nottinghamshire County Council
  • Plymouth City Council
  • Somerset County Council
  • Southampton City Council
  • Southend-on-Sea City Council
  • Staffordshire County Council
  • Stoke-on-Trent City Council
  • Suffolk County Council
  • Sunderland City Council
  • South Yorkshire Combined Authority
  • Tees Valley Combined Authority
  • Warwickshire County Council
  • West of England Combined Authority
  • West Midlands Combined Authority
  • Combined Authority of West Yorkshire

Contact our news team by sending an email to: [email protected].

For more stories like this, check our news page.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.