Thomas Pieters wrongly granted ‘mulligan’ after bizarre putt

Pieters called a referee and was told that because he ‘accidentally hit’ he could take it again. Relieved, Pieters hit a two-putt for a par and advanced.

However, when he reached the clubhouse, Mark Litton, the head referee, was waiting to say that the referee had not been correct and that he should have just continued where his ball ended. Still, the round of 70 would hold due to the guidelines in the R&A rulebook stating that if a player has been incorrectly advised by an umpire to cancel a stroke, the score with the replayed stroke counts.

No disrespect for Pieters – who in certain circles was inevitably portrayed as a villain on social media, but in fact had no fault – but it is hoped that he does not win by a blow on Sunday.

At five-under the world, No. 33 seems handily placed in a tie for seventh, but in reality he is 10 shots behind Rasmus, the young Dane who is 15-under and six ahead of his nearest pursuer, Frenchman Paul barion. .

admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.